Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession

CSWEP is a standing committee of the American Economic Association charged with promoting the careers and monitoring the progress of women economists in academia, government agencies and elsewhere. Learn more about CSWEP.

CSWEP Chair and Board

The CSWEP Chair, Professor Judy Chevalier, is currently housed in the School of Management at Yale University.  View the full list of current CSWEP Board Members.

Upcoming Events and Deadlines


Award Winners

Nancy Rose, 2020 Carolyn Shaw Bell RecipientDr. Nancy L. Rose, Charles Kindleberger Professor of Applied Economics, MIT Department of Economics, is the recipient of the 2020 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. Professor Rose is an accomplished scholar, an award-winning teacher, a gifted advisor and mentor and a strong academic leader.  She has also served as the Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economic Analysis, Antitrust Division, United States Department of Justice. She has served as a Vice President of the American Economics Association, as a member of the AEA Executive Committee, and as a CSWEP board member.  Professor Rose is a leader in the field of Industrial Organization and is known for her studies of the effects of regulation, particularly for airlines, motor carriers, and electric utilities.  In all of these roles, she has been a fierce advocate for women in the profession and has advised dozens of women students. Visit the awards page for the full announcement.

Stefanie Stantcheva, 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize RecipientStefanie Stantcheva, Professor of Economics at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize. Established in 1998, the Elaine Bennett Research Prize recognizes and honors outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman not more than seven years beyond her Ph.D. (adjusted for family responsibilities). Professor Stantcheva is recognized for her remarkable contributions to our understanding of optimal taxation, the relationship between innovation and taxation, and social preferences about redistribution. Using a wide range of methodologies, spanning empirical and theoretical work, Professor Stantcheva has pushed forward the frontier of knowledge about the impact and role of taxation, a fundamental question of public economics. Visit the awards page for the full announcement. 

Contact CSWEP

Questions? Contact Rebekah Loftis, CSWEP Committee Coordinator,

Follow CSWEP