CSWEP: Carolyn Shaw Bell Award

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. (To read a short biography of Carolyn Shaw Bell, see our Winter 2005 Newsletter.) The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award (“Bell Award”) is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring others. 

Detailed guidance on the criterion used by the selection committee is available here.

View the Call for Nominations

2023 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award: Kaye Husbands Fealing

Kaye Husbands Fealing, 2023 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award Recipient

Kaye Husbands Fealing, Dean of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts at the Georgia Institute of Technology and Professor of Public Policy, is the 2023 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award recipient. Her exemplary career demonstrates her versatility as an economist, academic leader, and champion of diversity in STEM fields.

Dr. Husbands Fealing earned her BA in Mathematics and Economics from the University of Pennsylvania and her Ph.D. from Harvard University. Her research has encompassed the study of the science of science and innovation policy, the public value of research expenditures, and the underrepresentation of women and minorities in STEM fields and the STEM workforce. A collaborative scholar, her study on gender pay gaps in U.S. Federal science agencies exemplifies her dedication to addressing disparities in the workforce. She has served on the faculties of Williams College and the University of Minnesota's Humphrey School of Public Affairs, where she garnered numerous accolades, including Teacher of the Year awards. She also served as the Economics Program Director at the National Science Foundation, where she spearheaded the Science of Science and Innovation Policy (SciSIP) program and co-chaired the Science of Science Policy Interagency Task Group. Dr. Husbands Fealing is an Elected Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and an Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She has served on the board of CSWEP and as president of the National Economics Association. In addition to these structural roles, Dr. Husbands Fealing has personally mentored numerous economists. The letters received in support of this award contain many examples of Dr. Husbands Fealing's generosity with her time and wise advice.

Dr. Husbands Fealing's multifaceted career is one of dedication and excellence, showcasing her unwavering commitment to advancing the fields of economics and science while advocating for greater inclusivity. Her journey, marked by significant milestones, inspires those who strive to make a meaningful impact in academia and public service.

View the full announcement.


2023 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award Presentation with an introduction by nominators and supporters:


Carolyn Shaw Bell Award Recipients